Saturday, November 21, 2015

Unique journeys...

Since today is National Adoption Day, I decided to include some input from my children in today's post. I asked them:

What does adoption mean to you?

After they stopped being silly and knew I was serious, they actually gave some real answers. 

E, age 11-"Being loved so much by somebody that they can let you go so you can have a good life."

Little Miss, age 8- "Being taken home so that you can live with a family because other people couldn't take care of you." 


From the beginning, our children have always been very much aware of their unique stories. They have photo books we used to read to them, starting when they were babies. It was good practice for us as newly adoptive parents of E. By the time Little Miss arrived, we were more comfortable with being able to ad-lib her story, but we still read the biography of her coming home to her as well.



Being open with our children about adoption from the very beginning was the only option for our family. Opening the dialogue from an early age allowed them to feel comfortable about adoption, know they were loved, and feel secure about asking questions.  
My children are young and their adoption stories change and evolve as they get older. They continue to ask questions and we continue to respond honestly. Not all questions are easy to answer, but they have a right to know the truth about their stories and we need to be secure enough to tell them. 

Common Sense Media has a list of books about adoption.  You can find it here. We were and still are fans of Todd Parr. He has written several books that are inclusive of all types of families. His illustrations are bright and vibrant and exude happiness.


I'm very grateful for the unique journeys of each of my children. I love looking back at the evolution of their adoptions and I'm looking forward to what is still to come. It's an adventure within an adventure.

To read all my posts about adoption, you can click here

7 comments:

方松腾 said...

TEN0323
babyliss flat iron
mulberry handbags
longchamp handbags
mulberry handbags
michael kors uk
mulberry handbags
hollister uk
tiffany jewellery
oakley sunglasses uk
fitflops uk
fitflops shoes
ralph lauren outlet
ralph lauren pas cher
tiffany and co
oakley sunglasses wholesale
hollister shirts
tiffany outlet
hollister shirts
coach outlet store
mulberry sale
oakley sunglasses
oakley sunglasses wholesale
ray ban sunglasses
oakley sunglasses
hollister clothing
kate spade handbags
burberry outlet online
coach outlet online
true religion jeans
burberry outlet

Gege Dai said...

basketball shoes,basketball sneakers,lebron james shoes,sports shoes,kobe bryant shoes,kobe sneakers,nike basketball shoes,running shoes,mens sport shoes,nike shoes
uggs outlet
ugg uk,ugg outlet,ugg boots outlet
air jordan shoes
coach outlet online
true religion jeans
kobe shoes
thomas sabo outlet
michael kors outlet clearance
adidas uk store
cartier sunglasses
cheap oakley sunglasses
ugg boots
tiffany jewellery
kate spade uk
ugg boots sale
air max 90
hollister clothing
fitflops sale
canada goose uk
ralph lauren outlet
nike mercurial
cheap jordans
michael kors outlet clearance
nfl jerseys
cheap ugg boots
air jordan shoes for sale
swarovski crystal
longchamp handbags
ugg outlet
michael kors handbags
polo ralph lauren
michael kors outlet online store
michael kors wallet
nike outlet online
czq20160812

John said...

canada goose jackets
cheap nfl jerseys
ugg italia
ugg boots
canada goose jackets
cheap ray ban sunglasses
uggs outlet
louboutin pas cher
true religion jeans outlet
ugg boots outlet
moncler uk
nike air max
michael kors handbags outlet
mont blanc pens outlet
nike free 5.0
christian louboutin sale
cheap jordan shoes
mont blanc pens for sale
canada goose sale
uggs outlet
michael kors handbags
ralph lauren outlet online
adidas nmd
toms outlet store
toms outlet
canada goose outlet
fitflops sale clearance
moncler jackets outlet
hermes belt outlet
wholesale nike shoes
longchamp bags
salvatore ferragamo
ray bans
coach purses
2016825yuanyuan

Fangyaya said...

christian louboutin shoes
jordan 4 toro
dallas mavericks jerseys
coach factory outlet
louis vuitton outlet
red bottom shoes
polp ralph lauren
uggs outlet
coach factory outlet
gucci outlet
uggs for women
ralph lauren outlet
ugg sale
ray ban sunglasses
ugg boot uk
jordan 4
mont blanc pens
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet clearance
adidas nmd
uggs on sale
gucci belts
rolex submariner
celine bags
michael kors outlet
adidas yeezy 350
ed hardy clothing
burberry bags
christian louboutin outlet
chenyingying2016826

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

Unknown said...

los angeles lakers
christian louboutin
salomon boots
gucci outlet online
michael kors outlet
canada goose outlet
michael kors handbags
moncler outlet
kobe 9
nike outlet store

Unknown said...

replica watches
bears jerseys
michael kors handbags
adidas nmd
cheap nhl jerseys
nba jerseys
michael kors handbags clearance
baltimore ravens jerseys
jimmy choo shoes
nike trainers uk