Monday, September 14, 2015

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)...

Along with the diagnosis of Metastatic Breast Cancer comes all sorts of questions from many.  I'm sure most people would like to ask me a few, but, most of the time, I'm not on the receiving end of these questions. Shannon, my Mom and Dad and Victor are the ones frequently asked questions, and sometimes the questions are not all that pleasant and really don't have answers.

In an attempt to give them a break from these "not so pleasant" questions, I will answer them here.

Q: Is she going back to work?

A: Right now I am not really able to return to work, but as far as returning in the future, I'm not sure what I'm going to do. I'm taking one day at a time. Right now my goal is to do everything I can to help the medicine do what it needs to do to tame the beast.

Q: When did she realize something was wrong.

 A: Well, this is a tough question. I really didn't fully believe something was wrong until perhaps a couple weeks before I was officially diagnosed. The biggest red flags were the left side of my body having tingling and numbness and I coughed up blood two times (although no one in the emergency room was concerned). I did have some other things that were off, and as a general rule for myself if they bother me for more than two weeks I go to the doctor for them, and I did. Meanwhile, I'm sure you would like me to tell you I had things going on and I ignored them for months...really, that's not the case. 

Q: Doesn't she get frequent scans?

Yes, I alternated between an MRI and a mammogram every 6 months, but it was only on my breast. It would only detect something in my breast and no where else. This was something I always worried about and questioned, because really, getting breast cancer in my breast was the least of my worries. What I did worry about has happened and it was not found until after I started having symptoms because it had traveled to my brain...very frustrating.


Q: Does she have brain cancer?

A. No, I do not have brain cancer. I have breast cancer that has spread (metastasized) throughout my body. Fortunately, breast cancer in the brain is actually easier to treat than brain cancer in the brain.

Q: How bad is it?

Well, it's bad enough, but, like most things in life, it could be worse. There is currently no cure for metastatic breast cancer, but it can be treated and that is what is happening now. I'm being treated primarily with oral chemotherapy and hoping with all my being that the yuck cells are being stopped in their tracks.

Q: What is her prognosis?

This, my friends, is probably one of the most common questions asked of my loved ones. It's also the one that is most upsetting and it's best not to ask, especially to those whom I  love. Goodness gracious, I know most are curious what the answer to this question is, but who really knows, not even the doctors do. Unlike in the movies, the doctors do not tell me how long I have. I am sure that upon request from me they could give me an estimated time, however, I'm not the least bit interested in posing that question and again, who really knows? Each person and each circumstance is so individual that it's nearly impossible to make such a prediction, nor is it anyone's job to do so.

So my friends, my prognosis is that I'm living life to its fullest each and every day, facing this head on and doing all that is possible to be a part of this Earth for as long as I can.



4 comments:

Anonymous said...

You are an amazing person, thank you.

Xiaozhengm 520 said...

2015-10-5 xiaozhengm
louis vuitton outlet stores
coach factory outlet
Red Bottom Shoes Christian Louboutin
canada goose outlet usa
timberland boots for men
Authentic Louis Vuitton Handbags Outlet
Louis Vuitton Outlet Factory Online
oakley sunglasses,oakley vault,prescription sunglasses,polarized sunglasses,aviator sunglasses,spy sunglasses,oakleys,oakley canada,cheap oakley sunglasses,oakley frogskins,oakley holbrook,cheap sunglasses,wayfarer sunglasses,oakley standard issue,fake oakleys,oakley glasses,oakley.com,oakley prescription glasses,oakley goggles,sunglasses for men,oakley gascan,oakley store,oakleys sunglasses
Nike Lebron James Shoes For Sale
Outlet Michael Kors Online
Coach Outlet Official Website
toms
jordans for sale
cheap jerseys
michael kors handbags
Air Jordan 3 "Infrared 23"
ugg sale
michael kors outlet
canada goose jackets
celine bag
Toms Shoes Sale Clearance
nike trainers
Coach Factory Online Outlet Cheap Purses
UK Louis Vuitton Handbag Outlet
Authentic Gucci Factory Outlet
louis vuitton handbags
Louis Vuitton Bags Original
michael kors uk
Michael Kors Handbags Factory Outlet
abercrombie and fitch
louis vuitton handbags

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

aaa kitty20101122 said...

adidas outlet
kobe 9
adidas tubular shadow
lebron james shoes
nmd
nike huarache
adidas superstar
air jordan shoes
cheap nfl jerseys
nike football boots